The Magic of Halloween

And The Thin Line Between Dreams and Reality

Maddierose
5 min readOct 29, 2023
This pic was AI generated by Author

Under the veil of a foggy October night, you could feel the spirit of Halloween in the air. A chilling wind ruffled my neatly tucked red hair beneath my nurse’s cap, and my nurse skirt caught the wind to reveal my stockings and suspenders as I climbed out of the car.

Hey! It was a party!

I had found the old nurse outfit in a second-hand clothing store, and it was a perfect fit!

My blue eyes tinged with excitement and a hint of anxiety as I looked at the house where Uber had dropped me off.

It was a relic of a bygone era, its walls weathered with age, windows like hollow eyes. The faded paint was peeling off in patches, but it bore festive Halloween decorations that seemed oddly out of place on such an aged facade.

Perhaps this is all part of the party’s theme,

I thought, as I approached, checking the address in my notes on my phone, yes, it was the right address.

I pressed the bell. It chimed, and the door creaked open, so I gingerly stepped in.

The moment I crossed the threshold, an overwhelming unease hit me. The air inside felt thick, as though I had walked into another era. The house seemed to breathe around me, its old timbers groaning and settling, like a living entity aware of my presence.

Maybe they’re trying to create a spooky atmosphere?

I reassured myself. But as I ventured further, the oppressive silence told a different tale.

There was no party here!

The plan was that I was to meet my girlfriends, but there was no sign of life.

Confused and growing anxious, I retraced my steps, but my heart sank when the front door refused to open. Panic clawed at my insides.

“This has to be a joke,” I whispered, the chill in the air making my breath visible. I searched desperately for lights or another exit, but the encroaching darkness seemed almost overwhelming, wrapping around me like a shroud.

The house made eerie noises – doors creaked on their rusty hinges, spider webs tickled my skin, and hushed whispers floated through the air. Otherworldly voices, punctuated by the occasional giggle, made the hair on the back of my neck stand. I wasn’t alone.

“Who’s there?” My voice trembled, echoing back at me, a lone cry in an old dark empty house. The whispers continued their origin, a mystery within the expansive confines of the old mansion.

I took out my cell phone. I had fully charged it before I left, but…

It was dead.

Of course, it was! This always happens in those ghostly haunted house shows I watch!

With rising desperation, I explored every shadow morphing, every sound magnified. The feeling of being observed, judged even, grew stronger. The house and its unseen inhabitants seemed to weigh on my very soul, dragging my spirits down.

Exhaustion crept in. Between the cold that seemed to seep into my bones and the overwhelming terror, I felt drained. All I wanted was to find a place to rest. Stumbling upon a bedroom, I made my way to the bed. As I lay down on the bed, on the side table, an old photograph of a handsome man with remarkably kind eyes caught my attention. For a moment, those gentle eyes comforted me.

Despite the fear, I was so tired. I closed my eyes, too frightened to open them, fearing what might be lurking in the shadows.

As the hours dragged, an eerie calmness surrounded me. Yet, beside me, I felt an unmistakable presence. It wasn’t threatening or malicious but rather gentle and tender, reaching out through the darkness. “Everything will be okay,” it assured, each word a soft caress against my heightened senses. The presence felt strangely comforting, like a guardian from the beyond. “I’m here with you,” the voice continued, “to protect and keep you safe.” The menacing weight of the room seemed to lift a little, replaced by a warmth I hadn’t expected. My fears began to ebb as I clung to the words, drawing comfort from a presence that, moments ago, had terrified me. The presence reached out and feathered its fingers up and down my arms, and I felt a warm embrace as it whispered in my ear,

“You are safe, lay still, rest!”

I did feel safe. I’ve never felt so safe

When I next opened my eyes, I was in my own bed, bathed in the golden glow of the late afternoon sun. My room felt both familiar and strange, as if I was seeing it after a long absence. I quickly realized I had somehow fallen asleep, and the party was about to start.

Glancing at my cell phone, I noticed a barrage of messages from my friends, all discussing plans for the party tonight. Still dressed in my nurse outfit, I tried to shake off the remnants of the dream.

I quickly got ready and hailed an Uber. The car ride felt surreal, every moment intensifying the anticipation of what was to come. And then, as the car came to a stop, my heart sank. Before me stood the very same house from my dream. But instead of an eerie, oppressive atmosphere, the sounds of laughter and music emanated from within.

Taking a deep breath, I entered. The interior was vibrant, alive with the energy of the party. Friends greeted me with excited shouts, pulling me into the festivities. As the night wore on, I couldn’t shake off the feeling of déjà vu. Everything seemed so familiar yet different.

Lost in thought, a movement at the top of the stairs caught my attention. And there he was, the handsome man from the photograph, looking down at me with those same kind eyes. Our gazes locked for a fleeting moment before I was distracted by a friend’s question. When I looked back, he had vanished.

As the night continued, memories from my dream merged with the lively party around me. The house, once haunting in my dream, now buzzed with joy and laughter. The mysterious man from the photograph, while remaining a puzzle, added an enchanting touch to the evening.

I may forever question whether it was a dream or a premonition, but one thing is certain, I’ll never forget that handsome face and those kind eyes.

This is the second fictional story I have ever written. I hope you enjoyed my story.

If you enjoyed my story and would like to read my first fictional story, here it is:

--

--

Maddierose

I’m real, true to myself, no pretence, just trying to survive my complicated life!! Please be kind! I do hope that I entertain you with some of my stories.